Domaine Les Aurelles

Domaine Les Aurelles

A superb Languedoc estate to discover!

ChevronLearn More

Taste the wines of Domaine Les Aurelles at the best price

Here is the famous Domaine Les Aurelles, a superb property in the Languedoc. Find all the best references of this prestigious estate on Comptoir des Millésimes. This is one of our partner estates, which means that their wines are sent directly to our cellar after being bottled at their estate. The winemakers reserve an allocation of their cases of wine for us each year. So don't hesitate to create an email alert (in the section my Alerts ) on the Domaine Les Aurelles in order to be informed first of the latest arrivals. In this mineral vault where we find a summary of the Languedoc geology, it is a thought, an architecture at the service of living, happy wines, rich with a knowledge, that of a poet winemaker.

Presentation of the Domaine Les Aurelles

This is a place of applied winegrowing thought and aesthetics, a love story between a man and a geology in the Languedoc. Near Pézenas, home of Boby Lapointe, friend of Brassens, poet, singer, acrobat of homophonies and somersaults of the language, Basile Saint-Germain chose the Villafranchian soil of the Nizas hillsides a little out of mischief - "a nod to the terroir of Château Latour" - and a lot for its qualities: "He is a false skinny, a long-distance runner in the Zátopek style. He makes wines that don't jump out at you, that you have to go looking for, that have things to say for a long time. They are not confected, they have a certain olfactory discretion in their beginnings, not flashy, the opposite of today's society. Elegance, refinement and a depth at the table that makes them a match for lobster... With Solen, it's a royal marriage. " 

 

The vineyard 

The estate's vines grow on villafranchian gravel from the Lower Pleistocene on the right bank of the Hérault, leaving sinuous terraces of river alluvium. The soil is made up of reddish sandy-clay loam, round siliceous pebbles, white quartz, quartzite, quartz schist and rare lydian rocks, a mineral vault where the jawbone of a mastodon arvernensis, a shady old man of 3 million years, has been found. "The grape varieties here are at home! Carignan is a humanist, as opposed to Syrah, which is a fierce egotist. Carignan listens to others and is never in a power struggle with food. Grenache is the worst, a complicated one: it is always too hot, too cold, too much water, not enough, but it makes the others sing and in blends it is essential. Finding its maturity and balance is a tricky business. Mourvèdre is full of qualities, in our case it is the singer of finesse and elegance. "So that leaves the egotistical syrah, and even if Les Aurelles welcomes it, there is none in Aurel (mourvèdre, grenache), nor in Solen (carignan, grenache): "Syrah is not completely adapted to our area, it does what it wants, I don't disown it of course. In fact, I produced a 6 year old solera that went on to be exported. For the rest of the care of the vineyard, Basile Saint-Germain relies on the practices of "true biodynamics", the one that makes the vine say thank you. In the course of the year, forty nights of clear spring water and preparations spread under the stars so that at the end of the day beauty comes to the fore: "At 2 grams of silica per hectare you bring information, your energy. It is the step of a happy man that the vine hears. "Forty nights, reflected, thought out, prepared to give nothing up.  

 

Refine your

Search

5 produits

Domaine Les Aurelles

Domaine Les Aurelles

Un superbe domaine du Languedoc à découvrir absolument !

ChevronEn savoir plus

Dégustez les vins du Domaine Les Aurelles au meilleur prix

Voici le célèbre Domaine Les Aurelles, superbe propriété du Languedoc. Retrouvez toutes les plus belles références de ce prestigieux domaine sur Comptoir des Millésimes. C'est l'un de nos domaines partenaires, cela veut dire que leurs vins sont expédiés directement dans notre cave à la suite de leur mise en bouteilles dans leur domaine. Les vignerons nous réserve chaque année une allocation de leurs caisses de vin. N'hésitez donc pas à vous créer une alerte email (dans la section mes Alertes ) sur le Domaine Les Aurelles afin d'être tenu informé en premier des derniers arrivages. Dans ce coffre-fort minéral où l’on retrouve un condensé de la géologie languedocienne, c’est une pensée, une architecture au service de vins vivants, heureux, riches d’un savoir, celui d’un vigneron poète.

Présentation du Domaine Les Aurelles

C’est un lieu de pensée et d’esthétique vigneronnes appliquées, une histoire d’amour entre un homme et une géologie en Languedoc. Près de Pézenas, patrie de Boby Lapointe, ami de Brassens, poète, chanteur, acrobate des homophonies et des sauts périlleux de la langue, Basile Saint-Germain a choisi les terres du Villafranchien des coteaux de Nizas un peu par malice – « un clin d’œil au terroir de Château Latour » – et beaucoup pour ses qualités : « C’est un faux maigre, un coureur de fond dans le genre Zátopek. Il fait des vins qui ne vous sautent pas à la figure, qu’il faut aller chercher, qui ont des choses à raconter longtemps. Ils ne donnent pas dans le confituré, sont d’une certaine discrétion olfactive dans leurs commencements, pas tapageurs, à l’opposé de la société d’aujourd’hui. L’élégance, le raffinement et à table une profondeur qui les font voisiner avec le homard… Avec Solen, c’est un mariage royal. » 

 

Le Vignoble 

Les vignes du domaine poussent sur des cailloutis villafranchiens du Pléistocène inférieur sur la rive droite de l’Hérault laissant des terrasses sinueuses venues d’alluvions fluviatiles. Ça fait une terre de limons argilo-sableux rougeâtres, de galets siliceux ronds, quartz blanc, quartzites, schistes quartzeux et de rares lydiennes, un coffre-fort minéral où l’on a retrouvé une mâchoire de mastodonte arvernensis, un vieillard ombrageux de 3 millions d’années. « Les cépages d’ici sont chez eux ! Le carignan est un humaniste opposé à la syrah, qui est une égotiste forcenée. Le carignan écoute les autres, n’est jamais en rapport de force avec la nourriture. Le grenache, c’est le pire, un compliqué : c’est toujours trop chaud, trop froid, trop d’eau, pas assez, mais il fait chanter les autres et dans les assemblages il est essentiel. Trouver sa maturité à l’équilibre, c’est pointu. Le mourvèdre est pétri de qualités, chez nous c’est le chantre de la finesse et de l’élégance. » Reste donc l’égotiste syrah, et même si Les Aurelles en accueillent, il n’y en a ni dans Aurel (mourvèdre, grenache), ni dans Solen (carignan, grenache) : « La syrah n’est pas complètement adaptée à notre coin, elle n’en fait qu’à sa tête, je ne la renie pas bien sûr. J’en ai d’ailleurs produit une solera de 6 ans qui a filé à l’export.» Pour le reste des soins à la vigne, Basile Saint-Germain s’en remet aux pratiques de « la vraie biodynamie », celle qui fait dire à la vigne merci. Dans l’année, ce sont quarante nuits de brumes d’eau de source claire et de préparations épandues sous les étoiles pour qu’au bout la beauté advienne : « À 2 grammes de silice à l’hectare tu apportes une information, ton énergie. C’est le pas d’un homme heureux que la vigne entend. » Quarante nuits, réfléchies, pensées, préparées pour ne rien lâcher. 

 

Affinez votre

Recherche

5 produits