The property was created in the middle of the 19th century by Mr. Raymond Lafon. At the beginning of the century, Mr Louis Pontallier inherited the property and his family ensured its continuity with renown. In 1972, Francine and Pierre Meslier became owners of the château. It is a very beautiful Sauternes wine, in Bordeaux. Find the bottles in stock on the site!

Vineyard and winemaking of Château Raymond Lafon

Raymond Lafon's 20 hectare vineyard is planted with 80% Semillon and 20% Sauvignon Blanc with vines averaging 35 years old. They are planted at 6,666 vines per hectare, the same density as at Château de Fargues.

During the harvest, the vineyard can be picked grape by grape if necessary. Harvesting is done in successive pickings which can take from 3 to 10 passes until the harvest is complete.

To produce Château Raymond Lafon wine, after the grapes are pressed in a vertical press, the wine is vinified in 100% new French oak barrels. The wine spends 3 years in 100% new French oak barrels before being bottled. 

 

Tasting advice

 Château Raymond Lafon can be enjoyed in its youth, without decanting. In fact, it is delicious and quite a treat when young, even on release! However, like all great wines, Château Raymond Lafon is much better with age and only reaches its full maturity between 10 and 30 years, and even longer in the best vintages!

That's when the magic happens! But this is not realistic for 99% of the world's wine drinkers. So enjoy it for any special occasion that lends itself to it.

Sure, the wine is sweet, but there is so much incredible, racy acidity that the wine is always fresh and never stuffy, making it very enjoyable to drink young. With Raymond Lafon and frankly all Sauternes, temperature is more important than decanting.

 

Best vintages of Raymond Lafon

According to Parker and the Wine Advocate, the best years of the château are : 

  • Château Raymond Lafon 1990
  • Château Raymond Lafon 2019
  • Château Raymond Lafon 2020
  • Château Raymond Lafon 2017
  • Château Raymond Lafon 2016
  • Château Raymond Lafon 2015
  • Château Raymond Lafon 2010

  

 

All our Sauternes châteaux :

ClimensGuiraudLafaurie-Peyraguey, Rayne-VigneauRieussecSigalas-RabaudSuduirautTour Blanche

Château d'Yquem.

  

Refine your

Search

La propriété a été créée au milieu du 19ème siècle par M. Raymond Lafon. Au début du siècle, M. Louis Pontallier hérite de la propriété et sa famille assure sa pérennité avec renommée. En 1972, Francine et Pierre Meslier deviennent propriétaires du château. C'est un très beau vin de Sauternes, à Bordeaux. Retrouvez les bouteilles en stock sur le site !

Vignoble et Vinification du Château Raymond Lafon

Le vignoble de 20 hectares de Raymond Lafon est planté de 80% de sémillon et de 20% de sauvignon blanc avec des vignes âgées de 35 ans en moyenne. Elles sont plantées à 6 666 pieds par hectare, soit la même densité qu'au Château de Fargues.

Pendant les vendanges, le vignoble peut être ramassé raisin par raisin si nécessaire. Les vendanges se déroulent par cueillettes successives qui peuvent prendre de 3 à 10 passages jusqu'à ce que la récolte soit terminée.

Pour produire le vin du Château Raymond Lafon, après le pressage des raisins dans un pressoir vertical, la vinification a lieu dans des fûts de chêne français 100% neufs. Le vin passe 3 ans en fûts de chêne français 100% neufs avant d'être mis en bouteille. 

 

Conseil de dégustation

 Le Château Raymond Lafon peut être dégusté dans sa jeunesse, sans décantation. En fait, il est délicieux et tout à fait un régal jeune, même à sa sortie ! Cependant, comme tous les grands vins, le Château Raymond Lafon est bien meilleur avec l'âge et n'atteint sa pleine maturité qu'entre 10 et 30 ans, voire plus longtemps dans les meilleurs millésimes !

C'est alors que la magie opère ! Mais cela n'est pas réaliste pour 99 % des buveurs de vin dans le monde. Alors, profitez-en pour toute occasion spéciale qui s'y prête.

Bien sûr, le vin est doux, mais il y a tellement d'acidité incroyable et racée que le vin est toujours frais et jamais étouffant, ce qui le rend très agréable à déguster jeune. Avec le Château Raymond Lafon et franchement, tous les Sauternes, la température est plus importante que la décantation.

 

Meilleurs millésimes de Raymond Lafon

Selon les notes Parker and the Wine Advocate, les meilleures années du château sont : 

  • Château Raymond Lafon 1990
  • Château Raymond Lafon 2019
  • Château Raymond Lafon 2020
  • Château Raymond Lafon 2017
  • Château Raymond Lafon 2016
  • Château Raymond Lafon 2015
  • Château Raymond Lafon 2010

 

Nos grands châteaux de Sauternes :

ClimensChâteau YquemGuiraudLafaurie-Peyraguey,  Rayne-VigneauRieussecSigalas-RabaudSuduirautTour Blanche.

 

    

Affinez votre

Recherche