Order easily a Volnay wine on the website!

Find the greatest bottles and the best vintages of Volnay on Comptoir des Millésimes. Enjoy the best prices and a fast delivery.

 Taste our great Burgundy wines coming from the domain and spend an unforgettable moment.

 > All our Burgundy wines

 

What is the Volnay appellation?

Volnay is a village in the Côte de Beaune in Burgundy. This appellation is famous for making one of the sweetest, most delicate Pinot Noir wines of the Côte d'Or. It is located between Pommard (famous for its powerful reds) and Meursault (home of rich white wines). Over the centuries, the wines of Pommard and Volnay have in turn shared the same popularity, according to the fashions of the time. When full-bodied and powerful wines are in the limelight (as in today's world market), Pommard is in the spotlight. But when silkier and sweeter wines are in demand, Volnay takes centre stage, as it did in the 17th and 18th centuries. The wines of the appellation are often referred to as the most "feminine" of Burgundy reds and contrast with their more "masculine" neighbours.

Since 1937, Volnay has had its own appellation, reserved exclusively for red wines made from Pinot Noir. There are no vineyards grand cru but more than half of the vineyards covered by the 213 hectares of the Volnay title - 34 in total - are classified as Volnay Premier Cru.

These are located in a narrow strip of high quality terroirs stretching from Volnay to Pommard via Meursault. Like almost all of the region's most sought-after vineyards, this strip is located halfway up the slope of the Côte d'Or escarpment. Here, the vines benefit from well-drained, limestone-rich, south-east facing soils that help them take advantage of the morning and early afternoon sunshine.

The figure of 34 "premier cru" sites does not include the other Volnay Santenots premier cru wines, which are grown in a 29-hectare (71.5 acre) vineyard that technically lies across the boundary of the commune of Meursault-Volnay and produces red and white wines, although the whites of Santenots take the appellations Meursault and Meursault Premier Cru. The great bottles of Volnay can generally be drunk quite early.

 

The best Volnay producers to discover on Comptoir des Millésimes

We recommend the following estates in the Volnay appellation era: Dominique Laurent, Louis Latour, Chavy-Chouet, Blain Gagnard, Bouchard Père et Fils, Monthelie Douhairet Porcheret, La Pousse d'Or.

 

Our partners wine estate in Burgundy 

Abbaye de Santenay - Alain Jeanniard - Arnoux - Blain-Gagnard - Boisson-Vadot - Bouchard Père et Fils - Bouzereau - Chantal Lescure - Château de Chamirey - Château de la Tour - Château de Marsannay - Château de Meursault - Chavy-Chouet - Clos Salomon - Comtes Lafon - Daniel Rion - Daniel-Etienne Defaix - David Duband - Domaine de la Vougeraie - Domaine de Montille - Domaine de Villaine - Domaine des Lambrays - Domaine des Perdrix - Domaine Faiveley - Domaine Germain - Domaine Joblot - Domaine Julien - Domaine Laroche - Domaine Pattes Loup - Domaine Ponsot - Dominique Laurent - Droin - Dureuil-Janthial - Fabien Coche - Fanny Sabre - Ferret - François Carillon - François Mikulski - François Raquillet - Gérard Tremblay - Ghislaine Barthod - Henri Gouges - Hubert lamy - Jacques Prieur - Jean-Marc Boillot - La Pousse d'Or - Louis Jadot - Louis Latour - Maison Leroy - Marc Colin et Fils - Méo Camuzet - Mongeard Mugneret - Moreau Naudet - Nicolas Perrault - Nicolas Rossignol - Pascal Robin - Paul Pillot - Pernot Belicard - Ramonet - Rémi Jobard - Trapet - William Fevre

 

Our Burgundy appellations 

Aloxe-Corton - Beaune - Chablis - Chambertin et ses Grands Crus - Chambolle-musigny - Chassagne-Montrachet - Clos de Vougeot et Vougeot - Corton et ses Grands Crus - Corton-charlemagne - Échezeaux et Grands-Echezeaux - Fixin - Gevrey-Chambertin - Givry - Meursault - Montrachet et ses Grands Crus - Morey saint denis - Nuits St Georges - Other appellations - Pommard - Pouilly-fuissé - Puligny-montrachet - Richebourg - Saint Aubin - Vosne-romanée

Refine your

Search

27 produits

Commandez facilement un vin de Volnay sur le site !

Retrouvez les plus grandes bouteilles et les meilleurs  millésimes de Volnay sur Comptoir des Millésimes. Profitez des meilleurs prix, et d'une livraison rapide.

 

Qu'est-ce que l'appellation Volnay ?

Volnay est un village de la Côte de Beaune en Bourgogne. Cette appellation est réputée pour faire l'un des vins les plus doux, délicats en Pinot Noir de la Côte d'Or. Il est situé entre Pommard (réputé pour ses rouges puissants) et Meursault (patrie des vins blancs dotés d'une grande richesse). Au fil des siècles, les vins de Pommard et de Volnay ont tour à tour partagé la même popularité, au gré des modes de l’époque. Lorsque des vins corsés et puissants sont à l'honneur (comme sur le marché mondial actuel), Pommard est à l'honneur. Mais lorsque des vins plus soyeux et plus doux sont recherchés, Volnay occupe une place centrale, comme ce fut le cas aux 17e et 18e siècles. Les vins de l'appellation sont souvent désignés comme les plus «féminins» des rouges bourguignons et contrastent avec leurs voisins plus «masculins».

Depuis 1937, Volnay a sa propre appellation, réservée exclusivement aux vins rouges à base de pinot noir. Il n’existe pas de vignobles grand cru, mais plus de la moitié des vignobles couverts par les 213 hectares du titre Volnay - 34 au total - sont classés dans la catégorie Volnay Premier Cru.

Celles-ci sont situées dans une étroite bande de terroirs de grande qualité qui s'étend de Volnay à Pommard en passant par Meursault. Comme presque tous les vignobles les plus prisés de la région, cette bande est située à mi-pente de l'escarpement de la Côte d'Or. Ici, les vignes bénéficient de sols bien drainés, riches en calcaire et orientés au sud-est, ce qui les aide à tirer profit des rayons du soleil du matin et du début de l'après-midi.

Le chiffre de 34 sites de "premier cru" n'inclut pas les autres vins de premier cru Volnay Santenots qui sont cultivés dans un vignoble de 29 hectares (71,5 acres) qui, techniquement, se trouvent de l'autre côté de la limite de la commune de Meursault-Volnay et produisent des vins rouges et blancs, bien que les Blancs de Santenots prennent les appellations Meursault et Meursault Premier Cru. Les grandes bouteilles de Volnay peuvent en général se boire assez tôt.

 

Les meilleurs producteurs de Volnay à découvrir sur Comptoir des Millésimes : 

Nous vous conseillons les domaines sur l'ère d'appellation Volnay : Dominique Laurent, Louis Latour, Chavy-Chouet, Blain Gagnard, Bouchard Père et Fils, Monthelie Douhairet Porcheret, La Pousse d'Or.

Affinez votre

Recherche

20 produits
Filtres actifs