What is the Santenay appellation?

Santenay is the southernmost wine-growing commune on the Côte de Beaune in Burgundy, with its own Communal appellation (created in 1937). The wines produced here are mostly red and made from pinot noir, although a small amount of Chardonnay is also produced.

 

  • The wines of Santenay

A typical red wine from Santenay is more colourful than those from the north, although its cherry colour is so characteristic of red burgundy. The aromas are of liquorice, red berries and violet, the most fragrant examples also showing notes of rose petals. The wines of the Santenay appellation are not held in the same esteem as those of its northern neighbours, as their style is more rustic than refined. This is generally attributed to Santenay's particular terroir, which contains a high proportion of marl - a factor it shares with the Côte Chalonnaise, which is located in a single valley.

 

  • Location and climate

Santenay is located at the southern end of the limestone ridge (the Côte d'Or), which is home to the best vineyards in Burgundy. The limestone soils, suitable for fine winemaking, are thinning just north of Santenay, but the commune still has its own share of vineyards of Premier Cru. They are concentrated in its northernmost corners, where Santenay borders Chassagne-Montrachet. The appellation also covers the vineyards of the village of Remigny, located a short distance east of Santenay, although its wines are considered to be very different. Remigny is located under the limestone slopes. Its wines are therefore more similar to those of the northern part of the Côte Chalonnaise (Rully or Mercurey) than to those of the rest of the Côte de Beaune.

The climate around Santenay is continental, with hot, dry summers and long, cold winters. Because it is exposed on three sides, Santenay is more affected than other communes in the Côte de Beaune by westerly winds, which would otherwise be deviated by the Côte d'Or. These are rarely strong enough to worry Santenay's winegrowers, but during flowering the vines are certainly more susceptible to damage than those in the more protected vineyards further north.

Refine your

Search

6 produits

Qu'est-ce que l'appellation Santenay ?

Santenay est la commune viticole la plus méridionale de la côte de Beaune en Bourgogne , avec sa propre appellation commune (créée en 1937). Les vins produits ici sont majoritairement rouges et élaborés à partir de pinot noir , bien qu'une petite quantité de chardonnay soit également produite.

 

  • Les vins de Santenay

Un vin rouge typique de Santenay est plus coloré que ceux du nord, bien que sa couleur cerise soit si caractéristique du bourgogne rouge. Les arômes sont de réglisse, de baies rouges et de violette, les exemples les plus parfumés montrant également des notes de pétales de rose. Les vins de l' appellation Santenay ne jouissent pas d'une aussi grande estime que ceux de ses voisins du nord, car leur style penche davantage vers le rustique que le raffiné. Ceci est généralement attribué au terroir particulier de Santenay, qui contient une grande proportion de marnes - un facteur qu’elle partage avec la Côte Chalonnaise , à une seule vallée.

 

  • Localisation et climat

Santenay est situé à l'extrémité sud de la crête calcaire (la Côte d'Or), qui abrite les meilleurs vignobles de la Bourgogne. Les sols calcaires, propices à la viticulture raffinée, s’amincissent juste au nord de Santenay, mais la commune possède toujours sa propre part de vignobles de Premier Cru . Ils sont concentrés dans ses coins les plus au nord, là où Santenay est limitrophe de Chassagne-Montrachet. L'appellation couvre également les vignobles du village de Remigny, situé à une courte distance à l'est de Santenay, bien que ses vins soient considérés comme très différents. Remigny se situe sous les pentes calcaires. Ses vins ressemblent donc davantage à ceux du nord de la Côte Chalonnaise ( Rully ou Mercurey ) qu’à ceux du reste de la Côte de Beaune.

Le climat autour de Santenay est de type continental , avec des étés chauds et secs et des hivers froids et étendus. Parce qu’elle est exposée sur trois côtés, Santenay est plus touchée que d’autres communes de la Côte de Beaune par les vents d’ouest, qui sinon seraient déviés par la Côte d’Or. Celles-ci sont rarement assez puissantes pour inquiéter les viticulteurs de Santenay, mais lors de la floraison, les vignes sont certainement plus sensibles aux dommages que celles des vignobles plus protégés plus au nord.

Affinez votre

Recherche

8 produits
Filtres actifs