Here is a Grand Cru of the Pessac-Léognan AOC. Chateau Carbonnieux, property of the Société des Grandes Graves, is a wine estate located in Léognan, Gironde. It is classified as a Grand Cru in the classification of Graves wines. The vineyard represents 95 ha and produces an average of 200 000 bottles of red and 180 000 bottles of white per year.

 

Do you know Château Carbonnieux? 

Its history dates back to the 13th century and it is undoubtedly one of the oldest crus in the Bordeaux region, more famous for its white than its red. Like some good quality white gravel wines, the bottles now have a longevity that can exceed twenty years. 

   

The Carbonnieux vineyard

The immense 170-hectare estate of Château Carbonnieux is perhaps the largest vineyard in Pessac Léognan with 92 hectares of vines. The vineyard is equally divided between plantings of red grapes and white grapes for the production of white Carbonnieux. The soil is composed of gravel, sand, limestone and clay. The large vineyard can be subdivided into 119 different parcels. There are gravel slopes with elevations that rise to 50 meters at their peak.

Chateau Carbonnieux has 47 hectares of red wine vines, planted with 60% Cabernet Sauvignon, 30% Merlot, 7% Cabernet Franc, 2% Malbec, 0.5% Petit Verdot and 0.5% Carmenère. This makes it one of the few Bordeaux vineyards where all six authorized grape varieties are planted.

The Carmenere grapes are a new addition to their vineyard. On average, the vines for the red wines are 32 years old. 43 hectares are reserved for white wine grapes. For Chateau Carbonnieux's white Bordeaux wine, the vineyard is planted with 60% Sauvignon Blanc, 38% Semillon and 2% Muscadelle. The average age of the vines is 26 years. Chateau Carbonnieux is one of the few estates in Bordeaux to produce almost equal quantities of red and white wine. 

What are the best years of Château Carbonnieux?

According to the top tasting team, Parker and The Wine Advocate, here are the top rated vintages:

   

RED

  • Chateau Carbonnieux red 2020
  • Châteaux Carbonnieux red 2015
  • Châteaux Carbonnieux red 2014
  • Châteaux Carbonnieux red 2005
  • Châteaux Carbonnieux red 2019
  • Châteaux Carbonnieux red 2016
  • Châteaux Carbonnieux red 2012
  • Châteaux Carbonnieux red 2009

   

WHITE

  • Châteaux Carbonnieux white 2008
  • Châteaux Carbonnieux white 2005
  • Châteaux Carbonnieux white 1979
  • Châteaux Carbonnieux white 2015
  • Châteaux Carbonnieux white 2014
  • Châteaux Carbonnieux white 2013
  • Châteaux Carbonnieux white 2007 

  

Buy your large bottles of Carbonnieux at Comptoir des Millésimes.

 

Our other Pessac-Leognan wines

We find of course the 1er Grand Cru Classé, Château Haut Brion, but also other references well known to lovers of great Bordeaux wines:  Domaine de ChevalierFieuzalHaut-BaillyLatour-MartillacLes Carmes Haut-BrionMalartic-LagraviereMission Haut-BrionPape ClémentSmith Haut Lafitte and many others.

Refine your

Search

13 produits
Château Carbonnieux 2019
Red2019 Bordeaux Pessac-Léognan
91/100 Wine SpectatorWS
91-93/100 Robert ParkerRP
Price38

11 in stock

Voici un Grand cru de l'AOC Pessac-Léognan. Le château Carbonnieux, propriété de la Société des Grandes Graves, est un domaine viticole situé à Léognan, en Gironde. Il est classé grand cru dans le classement des vins de Graves. La vigne représente 95 ha et produit en moyenne 200 000 bouteilles de rouge et 180 000 bouteilles de blanc par an.

 

Connaissez-vous le Château Carbonnieux ? 

L'histoire le faisant remonter au XIIIe siècle, c'est sans doute l'un des plus anciens crus de la région bordelaise, plus réputé pour son blanc que son rouge. Comme certains graves blancs de bonne tenue, les bouteilles marquent désormais une longévité qui peut dépasser vingt ans. 

   

Le vignoble de Carbonnieux

L'immense domaine de 170 hectares du Château Carbonnieux est peut-être le plus grand vignoble de Pessac Léognan avec 92 hectares de vignes. Le vignoble est  également réparti entre les plantations de cépages rouge et de raisins blancs pour la production du Carbonnieux blanc. Le terroir est composé de sols de gravier, de sable, de calcaire et d'argile. Le grand vignoble peut être subdivisé en 119 parcelles différentes. Il y a des pentes de gravier avec des élévations qui s'élèvent à 50 mètres à leur sommet.

Le Château Carbonnieux possède 47 hectares de vignes pour le vin rouge, plantés de 60% de Cabernet Sauvignon, 30% de Merlot, 7% de Cabernet Franc, 2% de Malbec, 0,5% de Petit Verdot et 0,5% de Carmenère. Cela en fait l'un des rares vignobles bordelais où sont plantés les six cépages autorisés.

Les raisins de Carmenere sont une nouvelle addition à leur vignoble. En moyenne, les vignes pour les vins rouges sont âgées de 32 ans. 43 hectares sont réservés aux cépages de vin blanc. Pour le vin blanc de Bordeaux du Château Carbonnieux, le vignoble est planté de 60% de Sauvignon Blanc, 38% de Sémillon et 2% de Muscadelle. L'âge moyen des vignes est de 26 ans. Le Château Carbonnieux est l'un des rares domaines de Bordeaux à produire des quantités presque égales de vin rouge et de vin blanc. 

Quelles sont les meilleures années du Château Carbonnieux ?

Selon l'équipe de grands dégustateurs, Parker and The Wine Advocate, voici les millésimes les mieux notés :

   

ROUGE

  • Châteaux Carbonnieux rouge 2020
  • Châteaux Carbonnieux rouge 2015
  • Châteaux Carbonnieux rouge 2014
  • Châteaux Carbonnieux rouge 2005
  • Châteaux Carbonnieux rouge 2019
  • Châteaux Carbonnieux rouge 2016
  • Châteaux Carbonnieux rouge 2012
  • Châteaux Carbonnieux rouge 2009

   

BLANC

  • Châteaux Carbonnieux blanc 2008
  • Châteaux Carbonnieux blanc 2005
  • Châteaux Carbonnieux blanc 1979
  • Châteaux Carbonnieux blanc 2015
  • Châteaux Carbonnieux blanc 2014
  • Châteaux Carbonnieux blanc 2013
  • Châteaux Carbonnieux blanc 2007 

  

Achetez vos grandes bouteilles de Carbonnieux sur Comptoir des Millésimes.

 

Nos Châteaux de Pessac-Léognan 

On retrouve bien-sûr le 1er Grand cru Classé, le Château Haut brion mais aussi d'autres références bien connues des amateurs de grands vins de Bordeaux : Domaine de ChevalierFieuzalHaut-BaillyLatour-MartillacLes Carmes Haut-BrionMalartic-LagraviereMission Haut-BrionPape ClémentSmith Haut Lafitte et bien d'autres.

Affinez votre

Recherche

13 produits
Château Carbonnieux 2019
Rouge2019 Bordeaux Pessac-Léognan
91/100 Wine SpectatorWS
91-93/100 Robert ParkerRP
Prix38

11 en stock