Second grand cru classé - Margaux

Château Brane-Cantenac, property of Henri Lurton, of the family of Lucien Lurton, is a 75-hectare wine estate located in Cantenac Margaux, in the Gironde region. It is classified Second Grand Cru in the official 1855 Bordeaux wine classification.

What are the specificities of Château Brane-Cantenac?

After changing name and ownership more than once, the estate owes its current name to Baron Hector de Brane who bought it in 1833 after selling what is now the Château Mouton Rothschild. Lucien Lurton inherited the estate in 1956. The property naturally went to Henri Lurton, who manages the vineyard with brio.

The vineyard offers a wine tasting composed of different grape varieties:

  • Cabernet Sauvignon 55%
  • Merlot 39.5%
  • Carmenere 5%
  • Cabernet Franc 4.5%
  • Petit Verdot 1%

A great classic of the Margaux, planted on deep gravel. It is even one of those rare wines whose collectors are looking to buy all the vintages. With the 1997 vintage, we find a body and structure worthy of a great Margaux.

The vinification of the Château Brane Cantenac is fragmented. The wine is vinified in a combination of 22 oak vats, 18 concrete vats and 20 stainless steel vats of varying sizes. Brane Cantenac's wine is then aged in 60% new French oak barrels on average for 17 months before bottling.

Recently, the estate has dedicated 3 of its hectares to the production of Bordeaux white wine planted as follows:

  • Sauvignon Blanc 80%
  • Sémillon 20%

There is a second wine at Château Brane-Cantenac, Baron de Brane. The estate also produces a third wine, Margaux de Brane, which is usually dominated by Merlot.

At present, more than 20% of the vineyard is cultivated in organic farming and 4 of its hectares are cultivated in biodynamic farming. The aim is to apply this method of cultivation throughout the entire vineyard in the long term.

Best vintages of the Château Brane Cantenac: 2010, 2005, 2009, 2015, 2008

Discover and order your bottles of Brane-Cantenac on Comptoir des Millésimes.

Refine your

Search

16 produits
Château Brane Cantenac 1996
Red1996 Bordeaux Margaux
90/100 Wine SpectatorWS
89/100 Robert ParkerRP
Price76
Regular price 96

21 in stock

Second grand cru classé - Margaux

Le château Brane-Cantenac, propriété d'Henri Lurton, de la famille de Lucien Lurton, est un domaine viticole de 75 hectares situé à Cantenac Margaux, en Gironde. Il est classé Deuxième Grand Cru dans la classification officielle des vins de Bordeaux de 1855.

Quelles sont les spécificités du Château Brane-Cantenac?

Après avoir changé de nom ainsi que de propriétaire plus d'une fois, le domaine doit son nom actuel au baron Hector de Brane qui l'a acheté en 1833 après avoir vendu ce qui est maintenant le Château Mouton Rothschild. Lucien Lurton a hérité du domaine en 1956, le propriété est naturellement revenu à Henri Lurton, qui gère avec brio le vignoble. 

Le vignoble offre en dégustation un vin composé de différents cépages: 

  • Cabernet Sauvignon 55%
  • Merlot 39,5%
  • Carmenere 5%
  • Cabernet Franc 4,5%
  • Petit Verdot 1%

Un grand classique des Margaux, planté sur un sol de graves profondes. Il est même de ces rares vins dont des collectionneurs cherchent à se procurer tous les millésimes. On retrouve, avec le millésimes 1997, une matière et une structure dignes d'un grand Margaux.

La vinification du Château Brane Cantenac est parcellaire. Le vin est vinifié dans une combinaison de 22 cuves en chêne, 18 cuves en béton et 20 cuves en acier inoxydable dont la taille varie. Le vin de Brane Cantenac est ensuite élevé en fûts de chêne français neufs à 60% en moyenne pendant 17 mois avant la mise en bouteille. 

Depuis peu, le domaine dédie 3 de ses hectares à la production de vin blanc bordelais plantés comme suit: 

  • Sauvignon Blanc 80%
  • Sémillon 20%

Il  existe un second vin au Château Brane-Cantenac, Le Baron de Brane. Le domaine produit également un troisième vin, Margaux de Brane, qui est habituellement dominé par le Merlot.

A l'heure actuelle, plus de 20% du vignoble est cultivé en agriculture biologique et 4 de ses hectares sont cultivés en biodynamie. Le but étant d'appliquer cette méthode de culture dans l'intégralité du vignoble à terme.

Meilleurs millésimes du Château Brane Cantenac : 2010, 2005, 2009, 2015, 2008

Découvrez et commandez vos bouteilles de Brane-Cantenac sur le Comptoir des Millésimes.

Affinez votre

Recherche

7 produits
Brane Cantenac
Rouge2015 Bordeaux Margaux
93/100 Wine SpectatorWS
92/100 Robert ParkerRP
Prix72
Prix de base 82

19 en stock