Château Malartic-Lagravière - Pessac-Léognan

Château Malartic-Lagravière is a vineyard located in Léognan in Gironde. Located in AOC Pessac-Léognan, it is classified grand cru in the classification of Graves wines. The Château was bought at the end of 1996 by the Belgian couple Michèle and Alfred-Alexandre Bonnie.

What are the specificities of Château Malartic-Lagravière?

After the Malartic family, the Ricard family and the famous Champagne producer Laurent Perrier, it is the Bonnie couple who have owned the estate since 1996.

With the ambition of raising the quality of their wine, the couple undertook a number of changes: complete renovation of the winemaking facilities, expansion of the vineyard (53 hectares today compared to 19 hectares in 1996), change of viticulture methods with the use of sustainable agricultural methods and stricter selection in the vineyard giving a greater proportion of the harvest to the Second Vin of the Château.

Hard, passionate work that made a difference. In 2005, the wine is of much better quality than before and it is in 2009 that the estate produces its best vintage since then. Over the years, the improvement in the wines of the Château is remarkable and a very bright future can be seen for the estate.

The vineyard situated on a gravelly and agilo-calcareous soil offers  in tasting a wine made of different grape varieties:

  • Merlot 45%
  • Cabernet Sauvignon 45%
  • Cabernet Franc 8%
  • Petit Verdot 2%

7 hectares of the vineyards are reserved for white grape varieties planted as follows:

  • Sauvignon Blanc 80%
  • Semillon 20%

The vinification is carried out in a combination of 20 stainless steel and 10 oak vats. The wooden vats are used for their old vines and their best plots. The 30 cone-shaped vats allow a plot by plot vinification. The wine is then aged in 50-70% new French oak barrels for 12 months.

In order to best express its potential, the estate also produces a second wine, La Réserve de Malartic.

Best vintages of Château Malartic-Lagravière: 2018, 2017, 2016, 2015, 2014, 2012, 2010, 2009, 2008, 2006, 2005, 2001, 2000 and 1998.

It should be noted that the 2013, 2011 and 2007 vintages are remarkable for the white wines while the red wines are not a great success.

Discover our selection of old vintages of Château Malartic-Lagravière on Comptoir des Millésimes.

Refine your

Search

7 produits

Château Malartic-Lagravière - Pessac-Léognan

Le château Malartic-Lagravière, est un domaine viticole situé à Léognan en Gironde. Situé en AOC pessac-léognan, il est classé grand cru dans le classement des vins de Graves. Le Château a été racheté fin 1996 par le couple belge Michèle et Alfred-Alexandre Bonnie.

Quelles sont les spécificités du Château Malartic-Lagravière?

Après la famille Malartic, la famille Ricard ou encore le célèbre producteur de Champagne Laurent Perrier, c'est le couple Bonnie qui est propriétaire du domaine depuis 1996.  

Avec l'ambition d'élever la qualité de leur vin, le couple entreprit de nombreux changements: renovation complète des installations de vinification, agrandissement du vignoble (53 hectares aujourd'hui contre 19 hectares en 1996), changement des méthodes de viticulture avec l'utilisation de méthodes agricoles durables et sélection plus stricte dans le vignoble accordant une plus grande proportion des récoltes au Second Vin du Château. 

Un travail acharné et passionné qui a fait la différence. En 2005, le vin est d'une bien meilleure qualité qu'auparavant et c'est en 2009 que le domaine produit son meilleur millésime depuis lors. Au fil des années, l'amélioration des vins du Château est remarquable et on imagine un très bel avenir pour le domaine. 

Le vignoble situé sur un terroir graveleux et agilo-calcaire offre en dégustation un vin composé de différents cépages: 

  • Merlot 45%
  • Cabernet Sauvignon 45%
  • Cabernet Franc 8%
  • Petit Verdot 2%

7 hectares du vignobles sont réservés aux cépages blancs plantés comme suit: 

  • Sauvignon Blanc 80%
  • Sémillon 20%

La vinification s'effectue dans une combinaison de 20 cuves en acier inoxydable et 10 cuves en chêne. Les cuves en bois sont utilisées pour leurs vieilles vignes et leurs meilleures parcelles. Les 30 cuves de forme conique permettent une vinification parcellaire. Le vin est ensuite élevé dans des fûts de chêne français neufs à 50-70% pendant 12 mois. 

Afin d'exprimer au mieux son potentiel, le domaine produit également un Second vin, La Réserve de Malartic

Meilleurs millésimes de Château Malartic-Lagravière:  2018, 2017, 2016, 2015, 2014, 2012, 2010, 2009, 2008, 2006, 2006, 2005, 2001, 2000 et 1998.

On notera que les millésimes 2013, 2011 et 2007 sont remarquables pour les vins blancs tandis que les vins rouges ne sont pas une très grande réussite. 

Découvrez notre sélection des vieux millésimes de Château Malartic-Lagravière sur le Comptoir des Millésimes. 

Affinez votre

Recherche

5 produits
Filtres actifs