Château d'Issan - Margaux

Château d'Issan, is a 53-hectare wine estate located in Cantenac Margaux in the Gironde. In AOC Margaux, it is classified troisième grand cru in the official 1855 Bordeaux wine classification.

What are the specificities of Château of Issan?

Dating from the Middle Ages, the Château d'Issan is particularly proud of its longevity and its history which has contributed to the production of a wine of character. Indeed, legend has it that the Château d'Issan would have been served at the wedding of Eleanor of Aquitaine and Henri Plantagenet, future king of England, on May 11, 1152. Moreover, in the 19th century, wine was served at the court of Emperor Franz-Joseph in Vienna, which explains the estate's motto: "For the table of Kings and the altar of Gods".

By its motto, the Château d'Issan clearly announces its desire to raise its wine to the level of excellence.

The Cruse family has owned the estate for three generations. With a production of 130 000 bottles, the Château offers in tasting an authentic Margaux wine that combines finesse, pronounced tannins and delicacy.

Regarding the terroir, the vines, which are on average 40 years old, are planted on a gravelly soil rich in pebbles which play a primordial role in the ripening of the grapes. The wine is made from 2 different grape varieties:

  • Cabernet Sauvignon 65%
  • Merlot 35%

The harvest is done by hand and the Château opts for non-certified biodynamic cultivation. For this Margaux, described as the most feminine of the appellation, its ageing potential can be counted in decades.

Over the last 15 years, the estate has redoubled its efforts by allocating significant technical and human resources to raise its wines to the rank of the greatest.

The Château also produces a second wine "Blason d'Issan" made from the youngest plots planted less than 20 years ago. The blend is the same as its big brother the Château d'Issan.

Find our best vintages as well as our old wines on Comptoir des Millésimes.

Best vintages 1985, 1988, 1989, 1990, 1996, 1998, 2000, 2005, 2009, 2015, 2016, 2017


 

Refine your

Search

5 produits

Château d'Issan - Margaux 

Le Château d'Issan, est un domaine viticole de 53 hectares situé à Cantenac Margaux en Gironde. En AOC Margaux, il est classé troisième grand cru dans la classification officielle des vins de Bordeaux de 1855. 

Quelles sont les spécificités du Château d'Issan? 

Datant du Moyen-Âge, le Château d'Issan est tout particulièrement fier de sa longévité et de son histoire qui a contribué à la production d'un vin de caractère. Effectivement, la légende dit que le Château d'Issan aurait été servi au mariage d'Aliénor d'Aquitaine et Henri Plantagenêt, futur roi d'Angleterre,  le 11 mai 1152. Par ailleurs, au XIX ème siècles, le vin était servi à la cour de l'empereur François-Joseph à Vienne ce qui explique la devise du domaine: "Pour la table des Rois et l'autel des Dieux".  

Par sa devise, le Château d'Issan annonce clairement sa volonté d'élever son vin au rang de l'excellence. 

Depuis déjà 3 générations, la famille Cruse est propriétaire du domaine. Avec une production de 130 000 bouteilles, le Château offre en dégustation un vin authentiquement Margaux qui allient finesse, tanins prononcés et délicatesse. 

En ce qui concerne le terroir, les vignes âgées en moyennes de 40 ans sont plantées sur une terre de grave riche en cailloux jouant un rôle primordial dans la maturation des raisins. Le vin est constitué de 2 cépages différents: 

  • Cabernet Sauvignon 65%
  • Merlot 35%

Les vendanges sont effectués à la main et le Château opte pour une culture selon la biodynamie non certifiée. Pour ce Margaux, décrit comme le plus féminin de l'appellation, son potentiel de garde se compte en décennies. 

Depuis une 15 ans, le domaine a redoublé d'efforts en allouant de manière importante des moyens techniques et humains afin d'élever ses vins au rang des plus grands. 

Le Château produit également un second vin "Blason d'Issan" élaboré à partir des parcelles les plus jeunes plantées depuis moins de 20 ans. L'assemblage est le même que son grand frère le Château d'Issan. 

Retrouvez nos meilleurs millésimes ainsi que nos vieux vins sur le Comptoir des Millésimes. 

Meilleurs millésimes: 1985, 1988, 1989, 1990, 1996, 1998, 2000, 2005, 2009, 2015, 2016, 2017



Affinez votre

Recherche

7 produits
Filtres actifs
Chateau d'Issan
Rouge2001 Bordeaux Margaux
90/100 Wine SpectatorWS
89/100 Robert ParkerRP
Prix72

3 en stock