What is the Chambolle-Musigny appellation?

Chambolle-Musigny is a small commune in the sub-region of the Côte de Nuits in Burgundy. It has less than 400 inhabitants but enjoys a widespread and historic reputation for its high quality wines. The village produces almost exclusively red wines from pinot noir. The classic Chambolle-Musigny wine is powerful, refined and fragrant. Along with Vosne-Romanée and Gevrey-Chambertin, the village is renowned for producing some of the best Pinot Noir wines on earth. The fragrance that characterizes the wines has earned Chambolle a reputation as the Volnay of the Côte de Nuits. A tiny amount of white wine is made from about half a hectare of Chardonnay grapes grown in the prestigious Musigny Grand Cru in the south of the appellation. No white wine is made under the village appellation or at the Premier Cru level.

 

Les Grands Crus and Premiers Crus of Chambolle Musigny

(Le) Musigny is divided into two sections, Les Musigny and Les Petits Musigny, with slightly different soils and slopes. The latter is the home of the Chardonnay plot. However, about 70 percent of the fruit harvested from the two parcels is combined in a single bottle of Domaine Comte Georges de Vogüé.

Bonnes-Mares is the other vineyard of the Grand Cru, located opposite Chambolle-Musigny. It generally produces more structured wines, but less round and fine than those of Musigny. A small parcel of Bonnes-Mares is located in Morey-Saint-Denis. (© Owner content, Wine-Searcher.)

The quality can vary between the premier crus. Les Amoureuses have soils very similar to Musigny and are widely considered to be the best. Les Charmes is also very much appreciated. It is also very similar to Musigny.

The climate in Chambolle-Musigny - as in all the department of the Côte d'Or - is continental. Seasonal and diurnal (day-night) temperature variations allow balanced acids and sugars to be established in the wines.

The village of Chambolle-Musigny is itself situated on the top of the median slope of the Côte d'Or escarpment, at an altitude of about 300 m. Wooded peaks lie to the west. Its vineyards extend immediately on three sides, on the slopes bordering the village. They extend eastwards going towards the AOP areas of Burgundy and southwards to the edge of the neighbouring village of Vougeot. Le Musigny and Les Petits Musigny extend further south-west in a corridor leading to the premier cru La Combe d'Orveau and the border with Flagey-Echézeaux. Morey-Saint-Denis is to the north. The best vineyards of Chambolle-Mussigny lie on the fine, well-drained soils in the middle of the slope.

There are 176 hectares (435 acres) of vines in total. On the whole, 24 vineyards Premier Cru Chambolle-Musigny cover an area of 56 ha. Its two grands crus together cover 24 hectares.

 

Order the best wines from Chambolle Musigny

Among the renowned producers of the appellation are : Louis Latour, Dominique Laurent, Bernard Amiot, Jacky Truchot, La Pousse d'OrGeorges Lignier et Fils.

Find our beautiful collection of wines from the Chambolle Musigny appellation on Comptoir des Millésimes.

 

Refine your

Search

15 produits

Qu'est-ce que l'appellation Chambolle-Musigny ?

Chambolle-Musigny est une petite commune de la sous-région de la Côte de Nuits en Bourgogne. Il compte moins de 400 habitants mais jouit d'une réputation historique et largement répandue pour ses vins de grande qualité. Le village produit presque exclusivement des vins rouges à partir de pinot noir. Le vin classique Chambolle-Musigny est à la fois puissant, raffiné et parfumé. Avec Vosne-Romanée et Gevrey-Chambertin, le village est réputé pour produire certains des meilleurs vins de Pinot Noir sur terre. Le parfum qui caractérise les vins a valu à Chambolle une réputation de Volnay de la Côte de Nuits. Une quantité infime de vin blanc fait d'environ un demi-hectare de raisins Chardonnay cultivés dans le prestigieux Musigny Grand Cru, au sud de l'appellation. Aucun vin blanc n'est élaboré sous l'appellation de village ou au niveau des premiers crus .

 

Les Grands Crus et Premiers Crus de Chambolle Musigny

(Le) Musigny est divisé en deux sections, Les Musigny et Les Petits Musigny, avec des sols et des pentes légèrement différents. Ce dernier est la maison de la parcelle Chardonnay. Cependant, environ 70 pour cent des fruits récoltés sur les deux parcelles sont combinés dans une seule bouteille du Domaine Comte Georges de Vogüé.

Bonnes-Mares est l'autre vignoble du Grand Cru, situé à l'opposé de Chambolle-Musigny. Il produit généralement des vins plus structurés, mais moins ronds et fins, que ceux de Musigny. Une petite parcelle de Bonnes-Mares se trouve à Morey-Saint-Denis. (© Contenu propriétaire, Wine-Searcher.)

La qualité peut varier entre les premiers crus. Les Amoureuses ont des sols très similaires à Musigny et sont largement considérés comme les meilleurs. Les Charmes est également très apprécié. Cela ressemble aussi beaucoup à Musigny.

Le climat à Chambolle-Musigny - comme dans tout le département de la Côte d'Or - est de type continental. Les variations de température saisonnières et diurnes (jour-nuit) permettent d'établir des acides et des sucres équilibrés dans les vins.

Le village de Chambolle-Musigny est lui-même situé sur le haut du talus médian de l'escarpement de la Côte d'Or, à une altitude d'environ 300 m. Les sommets boisés se trouvent à l'ouest. Ses vignes s'étendent immédiatement sur trois côtés, sur les pentes qui bordent le village. Ils s'étendent vers l'est en descendant vers les zones AOP de Bourgogne et vers le sud jusqu'à la limite du village voisin de Vougeot. Le Musigny et Les Petits Musigny s'étendent plus au sud-ouest dans un couloir menant au premier cru La Combe d'Orveau et à la frontière avec Flagey-Echézeaux. Morey-Saint-Denis se trouve au nord. Les meilleurs vignobles  de Chambolle-Mussigny reposent sur les sols fins et bien drainés du milieu de la pente.

Il y a 176 hectares (435 acres) de vignes au total. Sur l'ensemble, 24 vignobles Premier Cru Chambolle-Musigny couvrent une superficie de 56 ha. Ses deux grands crus couvrent ensemble 24 hectares.

Commandez les meilleurs vins de Chambolle Musigny

Parmi les producteurs renommés de l'appellation, on retrouvera : Louis Latour, Dominique Laurent, Bernard Amiot, Jacky Truchot, La Pousse d'OrGeorges Lignier et Fils.

Retrouvez notre belle collection de vins de l'appellation Chambolle Musigny sur Comptoir des Millésimes.

Affinez votre

Recherche