What is the Corton-Charlemagne appellation?

Corton-Charlemagne is the appellation Grand Cru of white wines from the hillside of the Montagne de Corton, in the Côte de Beaune region of Burgundy. The appellation was introduced in 1937 and covers the three surrounding communes of Aloxe-Corton, Ladoix-Serrigny and Pernand-Vergelesses. It is essentially synonymous with the lesser-used Charlemagne appellation, which covers only the vineyards of Aloxe-Corton and Pernand-Vergelesses. There are approximately 52 hectares of vineyards authorised to use one or both of the two appellations contrôlées.

Emperor Charlemagne is said to have ordered the planting of the first white grape varieties on the Corton hill. The red wines he loved so much stained his long white beard and his wife (one of several) would have forced him to drink white wines instead. These would not necessarily have been made from the Chardonnay grapes used today. They are more likely to have been a blend of Pinot Gris (known locally as Pinot Beurot), Pinot Blanc and Aligoté. Only after phylloxera in the early 19th century did Chardonnay become the dominant grape variety in the great white wines of Burgundy. Aligoté and Pinot Blanc are still allowed in the wines of Corton-Charlemagne, albeit in a limited way.

The hill of Corton is itself a large limestone outcrop, slightly apart from the main escarpment of the Côte d'Or. It marks the northern end of the Côte de Beaune and abruptly stops the plain sown with vines that flows north of Beaune. The top of the diamond-shaped hill is covered with dense forest, considered a crucial element of the mesoclimate. In 2017, rumours that the 66 ha site was to be sold and possibly developed with other vineyards led producers to join forces to preserve its survival.

The trees are replaced by vines from about 345 metres (1130 feet) upwards. The vines occupy the slopes of the hill for most of its circumference, although the classification Grand Cru covers only the southern half of the hill, sweeping majestically from east to west. The places known as "Le Charlemagne", "Les Pougets" and "Les Languettes", oriented from south-west to south-east, are responsible for most of the production of Corton Charlemagne. However, while the red wines of the Corton appellation generally bear the name of a specific Climat, this is not the case for Corton-Charlemagne, which probably reflects a greater homogeneity between the three parcels.

The clayey topsoil eroded from the top of the slope closest to the trees, leaving a mixture of limestone and marl more suited to white grapes, the historical source of Corton-Charlemagne. Further down the slope, there is more clay, iron, scree and fossil-rich soil more suited to pinot noir. The east side is a little warmer - more exposed to the morning sun - and richer in marl, which is so well suited to pinot noir.

 

More about Corton Charlemagne

Corton Charlemagne is considered one of the best white wines of Burgundy. It is renowned for its combination of fruit flavours (figs and baked pears) and mineral character (flint) - the latter being particularly common in wines from the colder western slopes. Corton-Charlemagne is one of the most expensive white wines in the world, although it still does not reach the prices demanded by its Montrachet counterparts.

If you are looking for the best wines of the AOC Corton-Charlemagne at the best price, you have come to the right place. On Comptoir des Millésimes, find your great wines of Corton Charlemagne in the best vintages and at the best prices.

Refine your

Search

7 produits

Qu'est-ce que l'appellation Corton-Charlemagne ?

Corton-Charlemagne est l'appellation Grand Cru des vins blancs de la colline de la Montagne de Corton, dans la région de la Côte de Beaune en Bourgogne. L'appellation a été introduite en 1937 et couvre les trois communes environnantes d'Aloxe-Corton, Ladoix-Serrigny et Pernand-Vergelesses. Il est essentiellement synonyme de l'appellation Charlemagne moins utilisée, qui ne couvre que les vignes d'Aloxe-Corton et de Pernand-Vergelesses. Il y a environ 52 hectares de vignoble autorisés à utiliser l'une ou les deux appellations contrôlées.

L'empereur Charlemagne aurait ordonné la plantation des premiers cépages blancs sur la colline du Corton. Les vins rouges qu'il aimait tant souillaient sa longue barbe blanche et son épouse (une parmi plusieurs) l'aurait obligé à boire à la place des vins blancs. Ceux-ci n'auraient pas nécessairement été fabriqués à partir des raisins Chardonnay utilisés aujourd'hui. Ils sont plus susceptibles d'avoir été un mélange de Pinot Gris (connu localement comme Pinot Beurot), Pinot Blanc et Aligoté . Ce n’est qu’après le phylloxéradébut du XIXe siècle, le Chardonnay devint le cépage dominant des grands vins blancs de Bourgogne. L'aligoté et le pinot blanc sont encore autorisés dans les vins de Corton-Charlemagne, bien que de manière limitée.

La colline de Corton est elle-même un grand affleurement de calcaire, légèrement éloigné de l'escarpement principal de la Côte d'Or. Il marque l'extrémité nord de la côte de Beaune et arrête brusquement la plaine semée de vignes qui coule au nord de Beaune . Le sommet de la colline en forme de losange est recouvert d'une forêt dense, considérée comme un élément crucial du mésoclimat. En 2017, des rumeurs selon lesquelles ce site de 66 ha devait être vendu et éventuellement développé avec d'autres vignobles ont amené les producteurs à s'unir pour préserver sa survie.

Les arbres sont remplacés par des vignes à partir d’environ 345 mètres (1130 pieds). Les vignes occupent les pentes de la colline sur presque toute sa circonférence, bien que le classement Grand Cru ne couvre que la moitié sud de la colline, balayant majestueusement d'est en ouest. Les lieu-dits "Le Charlemagne", "Les Pougets" et "Les Languettes", orientés du sud-ouest au sud-est, sont responsables de la majeure partie de la production du Corton Charlemagne. Cependant, si les vins rouges de l'appellation Corton portent généralement le nom d'un climat spécifique, il n'en va pas de même pour Corton-Charlemagne, ce qui traduit probablement une plus grande homogénéité entre les trois parcelles.

La terre végétale argileuse s'est érodée du sommet de la pente le plus proche des arbres, laissant un mélange de calcaire et de marne plus adapté aux raisins blancs, source historique de Corton-Charlemagne. Plus bas sur la pente, il y a plus d'argile, de fer, d'éboulis et de sols riches en fossiles plus adaptés au pinot noir. Le côté est est un peu plus chaud - plus exposé au soleil du matin - et plus riche en marnes, qui convient si bien au pinot noir.

 

À savoir sur Corton Charlemagne

Le Corton Charlemagne est considéré comme l’un des meilleurs vins blancs de Bourgogne. Il est réputé pour sa combinaison de saveurs de fruits (figues et poires au four) et de caractère minéral (silex) - ce dernier étant particulièrement répandu dans les vins des versants occidentaux plus froids. Le Corton-Charlemagne figure parmi les vins blancs les plus chers du monde, bien qu'il n'atteigne toujours pas les prix demandés par ses homologues du Montrachet .

Si vous cherchez les meilleurs vins de l'AOC Corton-Charlemagne au meilleur prix, vous êtes au bon endroit. Sur Comptoir des Millésimes, retrouvez vos grands vins de Corton Charlemagne dans les meilleurs millésimes et au meilleur prix.

Affinez votre

Recherche

5 produits
Filtres actifs