Grand cru - Pessac-Léognan

Château Smith Haut Lafitte, is a 67-hectare wine estate located in Martillac. Classé grand cru in the classification of Graves wines (AOC Pessac-Léognan), the château Smith Haut Lafitte is owned by Daniel Cathiard. The production is 200,000 bottles of red wine, and 50,000 whites per year. Bought out in 1990 by Daniel Cathiard - one of the greatest in distribution who sold his business (Eschenauer trading house), the château Smith Haut Lafitte has refined its improvements, both technically and in terms of working methods. The first major evolution was felt with the 1991 vintage, which was difficult due to spring frosts. It should be noted, however, that the wine's aromas now borrow from wood while the structure has become "Americanized". A marketing choice.

Unique compared to most of the great Bordeaux vineyards, Smith Haut Lafitte is subdivided into 140 small plots. The best part of the vineyard is located in the centre, on the gravelly plateau of Smith Haut Lafitte, whose maximum altitude is 40 metres.

Château Smith Haut Lafitte offers for tasting a red wine composed of several grape varieties:

  • Cabernet Sauvignon 55%
  • Merlot 35%
  • Cabernet Franc 9%
  • Petit Verdot 1%

For the red grapes, the terroir is made up of deep gravel with the upper surface covered with small quartz pebbles. Below, there is sand and limestone in their soil, with gentle slopes.

For Smith Haut Lafitte's Bordeaux white wine, they have 11 hectares planted as follows:

  • Sauvignon Blanc 90%
  • Sauvignon Gris 5%
  • Semillon 5%

The white grapes are planted just behind the château and to the north. There you will find more clay and limestone in the soil for white wine grapes. The microclimate for these grapes is a little cooler.

The vines are on average 38 years old for both grape varieties.

At Smith Haut Lafitte, all work in the vineyard is organic and self-sufficient. In fact, a large part of the farming techniques employed are based on biodynamic farming techniques. Fabien Teitgen, technical director of all Cathiard properties is an integral part of the success of their estate. Michel Rolland and Stéphane Derenoncourt, consultants, also have something to do with this success.

For the vinification of the red wine of Smith Haut Lafitte, after sorting and cold pre-fermentation maceration, the grapes are fermented as whole berries in 30 large temperature-controlled oak vats with a capacity ranging from 60 hectolitres to 100 hectolitres. Smith Haut Lafitte's Bordeaux red wine is aged on lees for the first few months of maturation in 60% to 70% new French oak barrels on average for 16 to 18 months.

In order to produce Smith Haut Lafitte's white wine, the grapes are whole berries fermented using a pneumatic press. The vinification is done in French oak barrels. The wines are aged on fine lees for 12 months with stirring. Smith Haut Lafitte's Bordeaux white wine is aged in 50% new French oak barrels for an average of 12 months before bottling.

Château Smith Haut Lafitte produces 2 second wines for their red wine. "Les Hauts de Smith" is made from an average blend of 55% Merlot and 45% Cabernet Sauvignon. "Le Petit Haut Lafitte" is made from an average blend of 55% Cabernet Sauvignon and 45% Merlot.

The best vintages of Château Smith Haut Lafitte red:  2018, 2017, 2016, 2015, 2012, 2010, 2009, 2008, 2006, 2005 and 2000

The best vintages of Smith Haut Lafitte white: 2018, 2017, 2016, 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012, 2011, 2010, 2009, 2008, 2007, 2006 and 2005.

Order online the prestigious bottles of Smith Haut Lafitte on Comptoir des Millésimes.

Refine your

Search

6 produits

Grand cru  -  Pessac-Léognan

Le château Smith Haut Lafitte, est un domaine viticole de 67 hectares, situé à Martillac. Classé grand cru dans le classement des vins de Graves (AOC Pessac-Léognan), le château Smith Haut Lafitte  est la propriété de Daniel Cathiard. La production est de 200.000 bouteilles en rouge, et 50.000 blancs à l'année. Racheté en 1990 par Daniel Cathiard - l'un des plus grands de la distribution qui a cédé ses affaires (maison de négoce Eschenauer), le château Smith Haut Lafitte a peaufiné ses améliorations, tant sur le plan technique que sur celui des méthodes de travail. La première grande évolution s'est fait sentir avec le millésime 1991, pourtant difficile en raison des gelées printanières. Il est à noter toutefois que les arômes du vin empruntent désormais au bois tandis que la structure s'est "américanisée". Un choix de marketing.

Unique à la plupart des grands vignobles bordelais, Smith Haut Haut Haut Lafitte se trouve dans un grand cep de vigne, qui est ensuite subdivisé en 140 petites parcelles. La meilleure partie du vignoble est située au centre, sur le plateau graveleux de Smith Haut Lafitte, dont l'altitude maximale est de 40 mètres.

Le Château Smith Haut Lafitte offre en dégustation un vin rouge composé de plusieurs cépages:

  • Cabernet Sauvignon 55%
  • Merlot 35%
  • Cabernet Franc 9%
  • Petit Verdot 1% 

Pour les raisins rouges, le terroir est constitué de graves profondes dont la surface supérieure est recouverte de petits cailloux de quartz. En dessous, on trouve du sable et du calcaire dans leur sol, avec des pentes douces. 

Pour le vin blanc de Bordeaux de Smith Haut Lafitte, ils ont 11 hectares plantés comme suit:

  •  Sauvignon Blanc 90%
  • Sauvignon Gris 5%
  •  Sémillon 5%

Les raisins blancs sont plantés juste derrière le château et au nord. Ici, vous trouverez plus d'argile et de calcaire dans les sols pour les raisins de vin blanc. Pour ces cépages, le microclimat est un peu plus frais. 

Les vignes sont âgées d'en moyenne 38 ans pour les deux cépages.  

Chez Smith Haut Lafitte, tout le travail dans le vignoble est biologique et autosuffisant. En fait, une grande partie des techniques agricoles employées sont axées sur les techniques d'agriculture biodynamique. Fabien Teitgen, directeur technique de toutes les propriétés Cathiard fait partie intégrante du succès de leur domaine. Michel Rolland et Stéphane Derenoncourt, consultants, y sont également pour quelque chose dans cette réussite. 

Pour la vinification du vin rouge de Smith Haut Lafitte, après tri et macération pré-fermentaire à froid, les raisins sont fermentés en grains entiers dans 30 grandes cuves de chêne à température contrôlée, d'une capacité allant de 60 hectolitres à 100 hectolitres. Le vin vieillit sur lies pendant les premiers mois d'élevage.Le vin rouge de Bordeaux de Smith Haut Lafitte est élevé dans des barriques de chêne français neuves de 60% à 70% en moyenne pendant 16 à 18 mois. 

Afin de produire le vin blanc de Smith Haut Lafitte, les raisins sont des baies entières fermentées à l'aide d'un pressoir pneumatique.  La vinification se fait en barriques de chêne français. Les vins sont élevés sur lies fines pendant 12 mois avec bâtonnage.Le vin blanc de Bordeaux de Smith Haut Lafitte est élevé en barriques de chêne français neuves à 50% pendant 12 mois en moyenne avant la mise en bouteille.

Château Smith Haut Lafitte produit 2 seconds vins pour leur vin rouge. "Les Hauts de Smith" est issu d'un assemblage moyen de 55% Merlot et 45% Cabernet Sauvignon. "Le Petit Haut Lafitte" est issu d'un assemblage moyen de 55% de Cabernet Sauvignon et 45% de Merlot.

Les meilleurs millésimes de Château Smith Haut Lafitte Rouge sont : 2018, 2017, 2016, 2015, 2012, 2010, 2009, 2008, 2006, 2005 et 2000. 

Les meilleurs millésimes de Smith Haut Lafitte Blanc sont : 2018, 2017, 2016, 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012, 2011, 2010, 2010, 2009, 2008, 2007, 2006 et 2005.

Commandez en ligne les bouteilles prestigieuses de Smith Haut Lafitte sur Le Comptoir des Millésimes

Affinez votre

Recherche

5 produits
Filtres actifs