Château Haut-Bages Libéral - Pauillac

Château Haut-Bages Libéral is a 30 hectare vineyard estate located in AOC Pauillac. It is classified Cinquième Grand Cru in the official 1855 Bordeaux wine classification.

What are the specificities of Château Haut-Bages Libéral?

Located on the hills of Bages between Pauillac and Saint-Julien, the estate belonged to the Libéral family in the 18th century. Its name comes from this period.

The vineyard enjoys an excellent terroir such as its prestigious and illustrious neighbours: Latour and Pichon. Indeed, the vines are scattered throughout the appellation and the soil is mostly composed of gravel on limestone and clayey-limestone soils. The best vines are planted right next to Château Latour.

In 1983, the Cruse family, at the origin of the expansion of the estate and the replanting of a large part of the vineyard, sold the Château to the famous Taillan group, owner of several Bordeaux châteaux such as Château Gruaud Larose in Saint Julien, Château Ferrière in Margaux, Château Chasse Spleen, Château Camensac, Château Gressier Grand Poujeaux and Château Citran in the Haut Médoc and Château Broustet in Sauternes.

The group then undertook renovations and modernised the estate's winemaking facilities. Renovations that have borne fruit, producing precise wines of undeniable quality.

Today, the vineyard benefits from the savoir-faire of Claire Villars-Lurton who is also in charge of other Bordeaux estates. Alain Sutre and Eric Boisennot are kindly give their advice to the estate.

Château Haut-Bages Libéral offers for tasting a blended wine made from 2 grape varieties:

  • Cabernet Sauvignon 70%
  • Merlot 30%

After manual harvesting, vinification in thermo-regulated stainless steel vats and maturing for 12 to 18 months in 40% new oak barrels, the Château produces full-bodied wines with an assured tannic structure that promise good ageing potential.

The estate produces an average of 100,000 bottles per year. There is also a second wine known under three different names: Chapelle de Bages, Fleur de Haut-Bages Libéral and Pauillac de Haut-Bages Libéral.

Best vintages of Château Haut-Bages Libéral: 2018, 2017, 2016, 2015, 2012, 2010, 2009, 2005, 2000, 1986 and 1982.

Discover all our Grands Crus from Château Haut-Bages Libéral available for purchase.

Refine your

Search

5 produits

Château Haut-Bages Libéral - Pauillac

Le Château Haut-Bages Libéral est un domaine viticole de 30 hectares situé en AOC Pauillac. Il est classé Cinquième Grand Cru dans la classification officielle des vins de Bordeaux de 1855.

Quelles sont les spécificités du Château Haut-Bages Libéral?

Situé sur les collines de Bages entre Pauillac et Saint-Julien, le domaine appartenait à la famille Libéral au XVIII ème siècle. Son nom vient d'ailleurs de cette époque. 

Le vignoble jouit d'un excellent terroir tels que ces prestigieux et illustres voisins: Latour et Pichon. Effectivement, les vignes sont dispersées dans l'appellation et le terroir est majoritairement constitué de graves sur des sols calcaires et argilo-calcaires. Les meilleures vignes sont plantées tout à côté du Château Latour.

En 1983, la famille Cruse, à l'origine de l'agrandissement du domaine et de la replantation d'une grande partie du vignoble, vends le Château au célèbre groupe Taillan, propriétaire de plusieurs châteaux bordelais tels que Château Gruaud Larose à Saint Julien, Château Ferrière à Margaux, Château Chasse Spleen, Château Camensac, Château Gressier Grand Poujeaux et Château Citran dans le Haut Médoc et Château Broustet à Sauternes.

Le groupe entreprend alors des rénovations et modernise les installations de vinification du domaine. Des rénovations qui ont porté leurs fruits permettant de produire des vins précis et d'une qualité indéniable. 

Aujourd'hui, le vignoble profite du savoir-faire de Claire Villars-Lurton qui est également à la direction d'autres domaines bordelais. Alain Sutre et Eric Boisennot apporte, avec bienveillance, leurs conseils au domaine. 

Le Château Haut-Bages Libéral offre en dégustation un vin d'assemblage constitué de 2 cépages:

  • Cabernet Sauvignon 70%
  • Merlot 30%

Après vendanges manuelles, vinification en cuves inoxydables thermo-régulées et élevage de 12 à 18 mois en barriques de chêne neuves à 40%, le Château obtient des vins corsés avec une structure tannique assurée qui promettent un bon potentiel de garde. 

Le domaine produit en moyenne 100 000 bouteilles par an. Il existe également un second vin connu sous trois noms différents: Chapelle de Bages, Fleur de Haut-Bages Libéral et Pauillac de Haut-Bages Libéral.

Meilleurs millésimes du Château Haut-Bages Libéral: 2018, 2017, 2016, 2015, 2012, 2010, 2009, 2005, 2000, 1986 et 1982.

Découvrez tous nos Grands Crus du château Haut-Bages Libéral disponible à l'achat.

Affinez votre

Recherche

3 produits